Mayor & City Council

The Soldotna City Council is the legislative body of the City of Soldotna and is comprised of six members, all of whom are elected at large to designated seats. Members serve staggered three year terms.

The City Council enacts the laws of the city, sets the mill rate for property taxes within the city, approves the annual budget for the city, and appropriates funds to provide for city services. Through ordinances, resolutions and budget adoption, the council establishes policies and directives which are then executed through administration.

The office of Mayor is an elected position who serves as the ceremonial head of government, executing official City documents on authorization of the governing body. The Mayor presides over City Council meetings, may take part in discussion of a matter before the governing body, may vote in the case of a tie, and has limited veto power. The Mayor appoints members to City Boards and Commissions, which are then confirmed by the City Council. The Mayor is elected at large and serves a term of three years.

The public is welcome to attend any meeting of the Council and participate at opportunities for public comments on the agenda. Upcoming agendas are published in the Peninsula Clarion, on the notice board at the front entrance of City Hall, and on the City's web site. Agendas can also be accessed by clicking on individual meetings on the calendar below.

For more information, please contact the City Clerk at 907-262-9107.
  City CouncilChera Wackler, Dan Nelson, Linda F. Hutchings, Jordan Chilson
Dave Carey, Mayor Paul J. Whitney, Lisa Parker
Digital Composite Photo by: Alaska Berry Photography

City Of Soldotna Meetings Portal

City Council Meeting CalendarCity Council Meetings are held on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month, unless otherwise noted in the Calendar.  Visit the City of Soldotna Meetings Portal to access more information, including agendas and other meeting materials. 

2024 City Meetings Calendar (PDF)

Contact Mayor & Council Members
Member Seat Phone Term Ends
Paul Whitney Mayor 907-714-1228
or 907-395-7231
Linda F. Hutchings Seat A 907-714-1268 2024
Dan Nelson Seat B 907-252-0369 2026
Jordan Chilson Seat C 907-714-1270 2024
Dave Carey Seat D 907-252-8004 2025
Lisa Parker Seat E 907-714-1272 2025
Chera Wackler Seat F 907-252-3156 2026

Send an email to the Mayor and all Council Members